Home / The Institute / Partnerships


Member institutions

  • Sorbonne Université
  • Université Sorbonne Nouvelle-Paris 3
  • Université Gustave Eiffel
  • Université Paris Cité
  • Université Paris Nanterre
  • Université Paris-Saclay
  • FMSH
  • INaLCO

FIAS Program

The Paris IAS is a member of the French Institutes for Advanced Study Program, which is an international mobility fellowship programme proposing high-level scientific residencies in the five IAS of Paris, Lyon, Marseille, Montpellier, and Nantes.

The FIAS fellowship programme will support individual research as fellows conducting bottom-up research with the greatest freedom, with the IAS strong scientific and extra-academic support. FIAS offers to experienced SSH researchers from all over the world 30 fellowships of 10-months per year.

This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under the Marie Skłodowska-Curie grant agreement No 945408.


The Paris Institute for Advanced Study - together with three other French IAS based in Lyon, Marseille and Nantes - is a member of the French network for advanced study in the humanities and social sciences (RFIEA), one of the thirteen thematic networks for advanced research (RTRA) created by the French government in 2006.

Other RFIEA members

The Collegium de Lyon, Institute for Advanced Study

IMéRA, the Aix-Marseille Institute for Advanced Study

The Nantes Institute for Advanced Study

European Network of Institutes for Advanced Study (NetIAS)

NetIAS was created in 2004 to stimulate dialogue on the practices of European IAS and cooperation between institutes. Today, it brings together 25 IAS in 17 countries, hosting more than 500 researchers each year for stays of several months. NetIAS members share the objective of creating international and multidisciplinary learning communities. This openness and the freedom that fellows enjoy for their research serve to promote scientific and intellectual exchanges. Fellows are released from their usual teaching and research obligations and pursue their projects in a privileged environment conducive to reflection and innovation. IAS allow researchers to break with intellectual routines, which encourages the emergence of new perspectives, approaches and paradigms.

As part of NetIAS, the IEA of Paris participated from 2011 to 2019 in the EURIAS international researcher mobility program coordinated by the French Network of Institutes of Advanced Studies (RFIEA) and funded by the European Commission. It offered some forty ten-month residencies - mainly in the field of human and social sciences - in 19 European institutes.

At the initiative of the IEA of Paris, several NetIAS Institutes have been collaborating since 2019 to host groups of young researchers as part of the CAT "Constructive Advanced Thinking" program, in order to address major societal issues. In addition to the IEA in Paris, the program includes the institutes in Amsterdam, Bielefeld, Budapest, Constance, Jerusalem, Montpellier, Turin and Uppsala.