Home / The Institute / Governance



Paris IAS is an association created under the French Law of Associations of 1901, founded on 1 January 2011. Its current President is Mrs Dominique SCHNAPPER, Director of Studies at École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales.

The purpose of the “Association for the Paris Institute for Advanced Study” is to “host high-level international researchers in residence, providing research conditions that foster creativity and innovation”.


The Paris Institute for Advanced Study has two governing bodies: the General Assembly and the Board of Directors.

General Assembly

The General Assembly is made up of three colleges: the College of Donors, the College of Scientific Institutions, and the College of Qualified Experts.

College of Donors
College of Scientific Institutions
College of Qualified Experts

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is a smaller body that brings together the Founding Members, two representatives from the College of Scientific Institutions, and six Qualified Experts. The Board of Directors elects a President, a Vice President, and a Treasurer from among its members.

President: Dominique SCHNAPPER
Vice-Président: Barthélémy JOBERT
Treasurer: Isabelle STRAUSS-KAHN, World Bank

Founding Members
Representatives of the College of Scientific Institutions
Qualified Experts

Scientific Advisory Board

The members of the Scientific Advisory Board are researchers that are recognised on an international level and are familiar with the research of institutes for advanced study around the world. The Scientific Advisory Board evaluates applications and gives its opinion on the programmes and general directions of Paris IAS.

The Scientific Advisory Board is chaired by Carla HESSE, professor of modern history and executive dean of the College of Letters and Science, University of California at Berkeley.

Members of the Scientific Advisory Board

  • Patrick BOUCHERON, Collège de France (Medieval and Early-Modern History)
  • Nicholas CRONK, University of Oxford (French Literature, Enlightenment)
  • Vincent DUBOIS , Université de Strasbourg (Sociology, Political Science)
  • Anne GARRETA, Duke University (Literature, Gender Studies, Cultural Studies, Critical Theory)
  • Simon GOLDHILL, Cambridge University (Classics; Culture and Literature of Ancient Greece)
  • Etienne KOECHLIN, Inserm and École normale supérieure (Cognitive neuroscience)
  • Marie-Claude MAUREL, École des hautes études en sciences sociales (Geography)
  • Helga NOWOTNY, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zürich (Sociology, Science and technology studies)
  • Martin STOKHOF, University of Amsterdam (Philosophy, Logic)
  • Mariachiara TALLACCHINI, Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Piacenza (Philosophy of Law)


Saadi LAHLOU, professor of social psychology at the London School of Economics is the Director of the Paris IAS since September 3rd, 2018.